30 Nov 2022, 21:55

Nomani elected DRU president, Sohel gen secy 

DHAKA, Nov 30, 2022 (BSS) - Mursalin Nomani and Mainul Hasan Sohel have been elected president and general secretary of the Dhaka Reporters Unity (DRU) respectively. 

Nomani of Bangladesh Sangbad Sangstha (BSS) secured 635 votes beating his nearest contestant Kabir Ahmed Khan of the same news agency who got 543 votes, while Sohel bagged 422 votes defeating his nearest contender Mohiuddin who secured 383 votes in the elections held today.

Other elected office bearers are: Vice-president Dipu Sarwar, joint secretary Moinul Ahsan, finance secretary Shakhawat Hossain Sumon, organizing secretary Saiful Islam, office secretary Kawsar Azam, women affairs secretary Mariam Moni Sejuti, publicity and publications secretary Kamal Uddin Sumon, IT and training secretary Tofazzol Hossain Rubel, sports secretary Mohammad Mahbubur Rahman, cultural secretary Mizan Chowdhury and welfare secretary Tanvir Ahmed.

Md Noimuddin has been elected as hospitality secretary unopposed.

The newly elected executive committee members are Monir Millat, Ismail Hossain Rusel, Mohsin Bepari, Mozammel Haque Tuhin, SM Kiran Sheikh, Mostafizur Rahman Sumon and Ali Ibrahim.

The voting began at 9am and continued till 5pm without any break.


  • Latest News
  • Most View