16 Jan 2022, 18:11

JS adopts condolence motion over deaths of state minister and six lawmakers

SANGSAD BHABAN, Jan 16, 2022 (BSS) – The Jatiya Sangsad today unanimously adopted a condolence motion expressing profound grief over the deaths of a former state minister and six other parliament members. Speaker Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury moved the condolence motion at the outset of the sixteenth session of the 11th parliament. The deceased are former State Minister for Housing and Public Works Advocate Afsar Uddin Ahmad Khan, former lawmaker and valiant freedom fighter Jainal Abdin Hazari, veteran freedom fighter Professor M Hanif, former East Pakistan provincial council member and language veteran Advocate Golam Hasnaen Nannu, former lawmaker Chowdhury Akmal Ibne Yousuf, ex-lawmaker M Ahad Mia and Shahadat Hossen Chowdhury. The parliament also expressed condolence over the death of parliament secretariat employee Abdul Hayee. Besides, condolence was expressed at the Jatiya Sangsad over the death of Ekhusey Padak recipient National Professor Rafiqul Islam, noted litterateur Hasan Azizul Huq, Cumilla Awami League senior leader and freedom fighter Principal Afzal Khan, freedom fighter Mustari Shafi, Sakina Khanam, mother of lawmaker SM Shahjada, South African Archbishop and Nobel laureate Desmond Tutu and former European Parliament President David Sassoli. Referring to those who died due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the parliament also expressed deep shock and sorrow for the demise of different professionals at home and abroad. The Jatiya Sangsad expressed condolence for those who were killed in the tragic fire incident in the Borguna bound launch ‘MV Abhijan-10’, people killed in the road accident in Mexico, helicopter accident at Kunnur of Tamilnaru in India and deaths in different places across the world. Moreover, the house also expressed deep shock and prayed for eternal peace of those who had lost their lives due to accidents in different places at home and abroad. Later, the obituary motion was unanimously adopted by the house, praying for their eternal peace and observed one-minute silence as mark of respect to the departed souls. Munajat was also held. Treasury bench lawmaker Hafez Ruhul Amin Madani conducted the munajat.
  • Latest News
  • Most View
Beta Version