15 Jan 2022, 15:56
Update : 15 Jan 2022, 18:34

Narayanganj city elections tomorrow 

   DHAKA, Jan 15, 2022 (BSS) - The Narayanganj City Corporation (NCC) polls 
will be held tomorrow as the voting will continue from 8 am to 4 pm without 
any break.

  The Election Commission (EC) has already taken all preparations to hold the 
elections in a free, fair and peaceful manner. 

   The polls will be held through Electronic Voting Machine (EVM). So, 2 
thousand 912 EVM machines have been sent to Narayanganj, on the outskirts of 
the capital.

   Each center will have one and a half times more EVM than required. 
Election materials have started reaching the polling centres from this 

   The electioneering ended at 12 midnight yesterday. 

   The election commission has instructed outsiders to leave the city areas. 
Motorcycle plying has been banned in the area since Friday night.

  Fourteen judicial magistrates have been appointed to conduct election 
peacefully. Under the Penal Code, they will be able to carry out brief trials 
with filing case.

   Around 5 lakh 17 thousand 362 voters will exercise their voting rights at 
1333 polling booths in 192 centers of 26 wards. 

   Meanwhile, the Election Commission has allowed 42 observers from 9 
organizations to monitor the election. 

   The organizations are: National Election Observation Council (JANIPP), 
SAARC Human Rights Foundation, Legal Aid Center, Foundation, Social 
Development Efforts, Trinamool Development Organization, Taltala Youth 
Development Organization, Rehaf Foundation, BB Asia Foundation and Human 
Rights and Social Development Organization-MOSUS. 

  Adequate security measures have also been taken on the election. 

   More than 5,000 members of the law enforcement agencies will be deployed 
to ensure security while each center will have 28 security personnel.

  Returning Officer Mahfuza Akter said no centre was identified as risky as 
all the centers are being taken into special consideration. 

   One sub-inspector (SI) will lead the five policemen's team in each centre. 
In addition, eight male and four female Ansar members will also be deployed 
to ensure security. 

  A total of 26 police units will be on duty as striking force during the 

   Apart from this, there will be 64 mobile teams of the police as each team 
will have five members. Border Guard Bangladesh (BGB) will deploy its 24 
platoon troops. 

   The returning officer said that Narayanganj deputy commissioner has sent 
demand note for more 6 platoons.

  • Latest News
  • Most View
Beta Version