24 Jun 2024, 08:29

South Africa opt to bowl first v West Indies

 NORTH SOUND, Antigua and Barbuda, June 24, 2024 (BSS/AFP) - South Africa captain Aiden Markram won the toss and chose to bowl first against the West Indies in the decisive final Group 2 Super Eight match of the T20 World Cup at the Sir Vivian Richards Stadium in Antigua on Sunday.

This is effectively a quarter-final after England confirmed semi-final qualification from the group with a ten-wicket thrashing of the United States in Barbados earlier in the day.

Both teams have made one change from their last matches with the unbeaten Proteas bringing in left-arm wrist-spinner Tabraiz Shamsi back into the side at the expense of seamer Ottneil Baartman.

For the West Indies, who earned their first Super Eight points with a nine-wicket hammering of the USA two nights earlier in Bridgetown, opener Johnson Charles is replaced by all-rounder Kyle Mayers, who only joined the squad last week after opening batsman Brandon King was ruled out of the rest of the tournament with a side strain.


West Indies - Rovman Powell (captain), Kyle Mayers, Shai Hope, Nicholas Pooran (wicketkeeper), Sherfane Rutherford, Roston Chase, Andre Russell, Alzarri Joseph, Akeal Hosein, Gudakesh Motie, Obed McCoy.

South Africa - Aiden Markram (captain), Quinton de Kock (wicketkeeper), Reeza Hendricks, Tristan Stubbs, Heinrich Klaasen, David Miller, Marco Jansen, Keshav Maharaj, Kagiso Rabada, Tabraiz Shamsi, Anrich Nortje.

Umpires: Alex Wharf (ENG), Rod Tucker (AUS)

TV Umpire: Chris Brown (NZL)

Match Referee: Ranjan Madugalle (SRI)