02 Dec 2021, 10:23

Sydney to host 11 games, Auckland nine at 2023 Women's World Cup

   SYDNEY, Dec 2, 2021 (BSS/AFP) - Sydney will stage 11 games, including the
final, and Auckland nine at the 2023 Women's World Cup, officials said
Thursday, as the number of host cities was scaled down.

   Australia and New Zealand were picked as co-hosts ahead of Colombia in
June last year for what will be the first 32-team women's tournament.

   Back then, organisers envisaged games at 13 venues across 12 cities, but
this has been slimmed down to 10 stadiums (two in Sydney) and nine cities,
world governing FIFA said in announcing the match schedule.

   Sydney had already been earmarked as hosting the final on August 20, with
Stadium Australia now confirmed as the venue. The World Cup kicks off at
Auckland's Eden Park on July 20.

   Australia was given 35 of the 64 fixtures with Perth, Brisbane, Melbourne
and Adelaide also playing host.

   The 29 matches in New Zealand will be at Auckland, Dunedin, Wellington and

   The quarter-finals are split between the two countries and the semis at
Stadium Australia and Eden Park.

   "It is a great privilege for Australia to host 35 matches, including the
final -- a sporting showcase that will reinforce our growing reputation as a
major events host," said Australian Sports Minister Richard Colbeck.

   His New Zealand counterpart Grant Robertson said the country was thrilled
to get so many matches.

   "Gaining an equal share of the group-stage matches with Australia is
really exciting... and will ensure more of our sports-mad nation can enjoy
this once-in-a-lifetime event in our backyard," he said.

  • Latest News
  • Most View
Beta Version