16 Jun 2024, 09:54

Australia opt to bowl first in T20 Scotland clash

GROS-ISLET, Saint Lucia, June 16, 2024 (BSS/AFP) - Australia captain Mitchell Marsh won the toss and opted to bowl first against Scotland in the final Group B match of the T20 World Cup for both teams at the Daren Sammy Stadium in St Lucia on Saturday.

Following England's victory over Namibia in a rain-affected match in Antigua earlier in the day, Scotland need to pull off an historic victory to advance to the Super Eight stage of the tournament and eliminate defending champions England.

While the Scots are unchanged from a comprehensive victory over Oman in their last match, the Aussies, who are already qualified for the Super Eight and are looking to close out the Group with a fourth win in as many matches, are resting Pat Cummins and Josh Hazlewood with Mitchell Starc and Ashton Agar replacing them.

Teams: Australia - Mitchell Marsh (captain), Travis Head, David Warner, Glenn Maxwell, Marcus Stoinis, Tim David, Matthew Wade (wicketkeeper), Ashton Agar, Mitchell Starc, Nathan Ellis, Adam Zampa.

Scotland - Richie Berrington (captain), George Munsey, Michael Jones, Brandon McMullen, Matthew Cross (wicketkeeper), Michael Leask, Chris Greaves, Mark Watt, Chris Sole, Brad Wheal, Safyaan Sharif.

Umpires: Asif Yacoob (PAK), Michael Gough (ENG)

TV Umpire: Alex Wharf (ENG)

Match Referee: Jeff Crowe (NZL)