13 Jun 2024, 21:31

Netherlands opt to field v Bangladesh in T20 World Cup

 KINGSTOWN, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, June  13, 2024 (BSS/AFP) -

Netherlands captain Scott Edwards won the toss and opted to bowl first in their

T20 World Cup Group C match against Bangladesh at the Arnos Vale Stadium in

Kingstown on Thursday.

                   The start was delayed by 15 minutes after a light flurry of rain swept

across the ground shortly before the start.

                   "We're bowling first because none of the teams know the conditions because

there haven't been any international games here," said Edwards as St Vincent

welcomes the return of international cricket after a 10-year gap.

                   Both sides are pressing to join South Africa in the Super 8 having already

won one of their two previous group matches.

                   Off-spinner Aryan Dutt was drafted into the Dutch side in place of Teja

Nidamanuru while Bangladesh captain Najmul Hossain Shanto named the same team

that lost to South Africa by four runs in their last outing.

                   "I don't mind batting first, it looks a good wicket," said Shanto. "With

the new ball we'll have to be a little bit more careful."




                   Bangladesh - Tanzid Hasan, Litton Das (wicketkeeper), Najmul Hossain Shanto

(captain), Towhid Hridoy, Shakib Al Hasan, Mahmudullah, Jaker Ali, Rishad

Hossain, Tanzim Hasan, Taskin Ahmed, Mustafizur Rahman

                   Netherlands - Michael Levitt, Max O'Dowd, Vikramjit Singh, Sybrand

Engelbrecht, Scott Edwards (captain, wicketkeeper), Bas de Leede, Logan van

Beek, Tim Pringle, Aryan Dutt, Paul van Meekeren, Vivian Kingma

                   Umpires: Chris Brown (NZL), Jayaraman Madanagopal (IND)

                   TV Umpire: Allahuddien Paleker (RSA)

                   Match Referee: Richie Richardson (WIS)



  • Latest News
  • Most View