22 Sep 2021, 17:52

BCB's directors to be elected by 171 councillors on Oct 6

  DHAKA, Sept 22, 2021 (BSS)- The forthcoming Board of Directors election of
the Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) will be held on October 6, the election
commission announced on Tuesday.

  The development was announced immediate after its 12th Board of Directors

   A total of 171 councillors will exercise their votes to elect 23 directors
who alongside two other directors nominated by the National Sports Council
(NSC) will run the cricket in the country for the next four years.

  Agrani Bank, Dhaka University and Barisal Board did not submit

  It will be the seventh BCB elections. Earlier, the election was held in
1998, 2001, 2005, 2009, 2013 and 2017. In the last two elections-- 2013 and
2017-- BCB president was elected as per the ICC guidelines but earlier it was
nominated by the government. The Board of Directors in fact elects the BCB

  However, the councillors will elect 10 directors in category one (division
and district), 12 directors from category two (Dhaka league clubs) and one
director in category three (involving public university, former cricketers
and government agencies).

  Two directors will be nominated by the National Sports Council (NSC). Ahmed
Sajjadul Alam and Jalal Younus have already confirmed their nominations as
the BCB directors from the NSC.

  The election commission released the draft voters list today. The final
voters list, however, will be declared tomorrow (Thursday) after

  The councillors will be able to submit nomination on Friday and Saturday.
The nomination papers will be scrutinized on September 28.

  Withdrawal of nomination paper and declaration of the final list of
contestants for the election is slated in the following day.

  Election commission will announce the date for the president's election
after the election results of the directors, scheduled on October 7.

  Earlier this month, the board had formed a five-member election commission
with M Farhad Hussain, FCA, former President of Institute of Chartered
Accountants of Bangladesh (ICAB) as the Chief Election Commissioner. The
other members of the commission are Omar Faruque, ndc, former Joint Secretary
of the Bangladesh Government, Barrister Muddasir Hossain, legal advisor of
the BCB, Ekramul Hoque, advocate of Bangladesh Supreme Court and former
Deputy Attorney General for Bangladesh and Nizamuddin Chowdhury, CEO of the

  Incumbent BCB president Nazmul Hassan Papon had already announced that he
will not form any panel this time around.

  At the same time, he also showed his reluctance to be the BCB president
again, saying that "We should have a pipeline where new leadership will

  Papon first assumed the power is BCB In 2012 when Bangladesh government
nominated him as the president. He, however, was the first elected president
of the BCB when he came to the power uncontested in 2013.

  No one gives any panel against him in 2017 election also. This seemed to
irk him to such extent that he urged all to come forward for the president

   Papon, who is the Councillor of Abahani Limited, said he will contest in
the Board of Directors' election.


  • Latest News
  • Most View
Beta Version