31 Mar 2023, 16:52

Rishad debuts as Tigers opts to bat first to sweep T20 series

CHATTOGRAM, March 31, 2023 (BSS)- Bangladesh Captain Shakib Al Hasan decided
to bat first in the third and final T20 International against Ireland after
winning the toss at the Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium here today.

After winning the first two matches, the hosts are now eying to register a
clean sweep. Bangladesh won the first match of the series by 22 runs through
DLS method before winning the second game by 77 runs thanks blazing
performance of Liton Das and Shakib Al Hasan.

Bangladesh handed T20 debut to Rishad Ahmed, who is the only third leg
spinner after Jubair Hossain and Aminul Islam to represent Bangladesh in the
shortest format of the cricket.

Allrounder Mehidy Hasan Miraz was rested to accommodate Rishad in the side.
The hosts also left out Mustafizur Rahman to bring back left-arm pacer
Shoriful Islam as the second change for the match.

Ireland made one change to avoid the clean sweep as they brought in uncapped
left-arm spinner Matthew Humphreys, replacing fast bowler Graham Hume.

Line Ups:

Bangladesh: Liton Das (wk), Rony Talukdar, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Shakib Al
Hasan (capt), Towhid Hridoy, Shamim Hossain, Rishad Hossain, Taskin Ahmed,
Nasum Ahmed, Shorifukl Islam and Hasan Mahmud

Ireland: Paul Stirling (capt), Ross Adair, Lorcan Tucker (wk), Harry Tector,
Curtis Campher, George Dockrell, Gareth Delany, Mark Adair, Fionn Hand,
Matthew Humphreys and Ben White.