03 Dec 2023, 17:30

Nomination papers of 16 MP aspirants cancelled in Khulna dist

KHULNA, Dec 3, 2023 (BSS): Returning Officer (RO) of Khulna Khondokar Yasir Arefin today cancelled the nomination papers of 16 parliament member candidates including Jatiya Party nominated candidate from Khulna-6 constituency Shafiqul Islam Modhu for various causes in the upcoming 12th national election.

The RO Arefin who is also the deputy commissioner of Khulna cancelled their nomination papers during the scrutiny for various causes including shortage of necessary papers and wrong information, fake signatures of voters provided in the documents attached with the nomination papers, failed to pay electricity bills, bank loan and submit tax return copy and certificates etc.

The Khulna RO today scrutinized 33 parliament members’ aspirants of Khulna-4, 5 and 6 constituencies out of all six. Of them, the RO declared 14 candidates as valid, 3 for waiting and cancelled 16.

Those whose nomination papers were cancelled are-Sheikh Habibur Rahman of Trinomul BNP, Reaz Uddin Khan of Islami Oikko Jote, Monira Sultana of Bangladesh Congress and independent candidates Mortoza Rashidi Dara, H M Rowshon Jamir, Rezvi Alam, Atiqur Rahman and Juwel Rana for Khulna-4 constituency, independent candidate Sheikh Akramuzzaman and Islami Oikko Jote candidate Tariqul Islam for Khulna-5 constituency, independent candidate S M Razu, Gazi Mostofa Kamal, G M Mahbubul Alam and Mostofa Kamal Zahangir, Mirja Golam Azam of Bangladesh Congress and Shafiqul Islam Modhu of Jatiya Party for the Khulna-6 constituency.

The other nomination papers for the Khulna-1, 2 and 3 constituencies will be scrutinized tomorrow, RO Khondokar Yasir Arefin told BSS.