20 Mar 2023, 20:01

3 dists, 32 upazilas to be declared free of landless, homeless people

RAJSHAHI, March 20, 2023 (BSS)- A total of three districts-- Rajshahi,

Chapainwabganj and Joypurhat-- and 32 upazilas are going to be declared as
freed of landless and homeless people in the division.
Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina would declare it virtually on March 22, 2023 at
10 am at the fourth phase of Ashrayan Project-2 to mark the Mujibbarsha.

Commissioner of Rajshahi division GSM Zafarullah revealed this while
addressing a press conference at his office conference hall today.
He said there were 31,930 homeless and landless families in 'KA' class in
eight districts under the division. Already, 21,762 of those were
rehabilitated in the first, second and third phases.

In the fourth phase, houses were allocated to 8,314 families. Of them, 1,451
in Rajshahi, 230 in Chapainawabganj, 1,492 in Naogaon, 1,289 in Natore, 1,518
in Pabna, 783 in Sirajganj, 1,412 in Bogura and 139 in Joypurhat districts.

Commissioner Zafarullah said 10 upazilas were declared as freed from landless
and homeless people in the earlier three phases while in the fourth phase, 32
more upazilas will be declared as free from homeless and landless people. The
total number of declared upazilas of homeless and landless people now stands
at 42, out of 67, he added.

Additional Commissioners Imtiaz Hossain and Moinul Islam and Director of
Local Government Enamul Haque were present at the press conference.


  • Latest News
  • Most View