BSP-25 Tigers restrict India to 148-6 in first T20





Tigers restrict India to 148-6 in first T20

NEW DELHI, Nov 3, 2019 (BSS) – The Bangladesh bowlers put up a sterling performance to restrict a much-vaunted India batting line up to 148-6 in the three-match T20 series opener at Arun Jaitley Stadium in New Delhi on Sunday.

Pace bowler Shafiul Islam and leg-spin sensation Aminul Islam Biplob led the charge with two wickets apiece while the other bowlers assisted them in strangling the Indian batsmen.

Indian opener Shikhar Dhawan was the highest scorer for the side with 42 ball-41, hitting three fours and a six. Rishab Pant was the other notable score with 27 off 26, sending the ball across the ropes for thrice.

Bangladesh T20 captain Mahmdullah Riyad won the toss and chose to bowl first, which the bowlers proved preciously right.

New ball bowler Shafiul though conceded two boundaries in first over, he returned with the wicket of India captain Rohit Sharma.

Basically Sharma’s early dismissal paved the way for Bangladesh to hurl the baton on Indian batsman as the bowlers got hugely motivated.

The other bowlers then came up with their best to stifle the run rate and Aminul Islalm Biplob who took 2-18 on his debut against Zimbabwe in Tri-series T20 tournament in Bangladesh was to the fore.

In his just second match, Aminul’s double wicket haul in quick space pegged back Indian innings. However Rishab Pant accelerated the innings in the middle overs alongside Dhawan before Krunal Pandya and Washington Sundor gave the finishing touch.

The duo took 16 runs in the last over to help India reach closer to 150 runs mark.

India earlier won all the eight T20 matches against Bangladesh.