Tigers clinch T20I series in grand style


DHAKA, Aug 6, 2018 (BSS) – Bangladesh clinched the T20I series in grand
style as they beat West Indies by 19 runs in D/L method in the rain affected
third and final T20 match held on Monday at Central Broward Regional Park
Stadium Turf Ground, Lauderhill in Florida.

Chasing a massive winning target of 185-run, West Indies scored 135 for 7
needing 50 runs from last 17 deliveries as rain stopped the play.

Later the match umpires declared Bangladesh as winners by 19 runs in D/L

West Indies lost both their openers early as Mustafizur Rahman sent back
to Fletcher for 6. Soumya Sarkar then dismissed Walton for 19 runs. Soumya
came to replace ace spinner Nazmul Islam who injured his hand after bowling
only three deliveries.

Skipper Shakib Al Hasan who bowled brilliantly throughout T20 series joined
the party taking the wicket of danger man Samuels, leaving West Indies in

However Rovman Powell and Denish Ramdin tried to revive West Indies
innings in the middle by contributing 45-run partnership for the fourth
wicket stand.

But, the Tigers bowlers were in no mood to compromise as they came down
strongly with numbers of dot balls. This put more pressure on West Indies

Rubel Hossain broke the important partnership by getting Ramdin out for 18-
ball off 21 runs hitting one boundary and one over boundary. Mustafizur
picked up his second wicket dismissing Powell who scored 20-ball off 23 runs
with the help of two boundaries and completed his third wicket haul sending
back to dangerman Andre Russell after his harricane knock of 21-ball off 47
runs which included one boundary and six towering over boundaries almost
threatened to take the game away from Bangladesh.

Liton Das who was named the player of the match said: “It is definitely a
big win for our team …….they are a very good team… they are the world
champions. The pitch was similar to the surface on our country. This is my
first fifty and I’m lucky.”

Earlier, Bangladesh, rode on opener Liton Das’s maiden half century to
pile up a mammoth challenging total of 184 for 5 from their allotted 20 overs
against West Indies, after they opted to bat first.

Liton hammered 32-ball off 61 runs hitting six fours and three sixes
before he fall to Williams and also shared 61-run opening stand with Tamim
Iqbal who contributed 13-ball off 21-run hitting with the help of three
boundaries and one over boundary before parishes to Brathwait.

Soumya Sarkar (5) continued his poor form while Mushfiqur Rahim lasted
after scoring 12 runs.

Later skipper Shakib Al Hasan and Mahmudullah added another 44-run
partnership for the fifth wicket stand in the middle before Keemo Paul broke
the important partnership removing Shakib who smashed 22-ball off 24 runs
hitting two boundaries.

Later Mahmudullah and Ariful Haque put up another crucial 38-run unbroken
sixth wicket stand helped their side to set a massive target for West Indies.

Mahmudullah blasted 20-ball off 32 hitting four boundaries and one over
boundaries while Ariful added 16-ball of 18 with the help of one boundary

Keemo Paul and Carlos Brathwaite were the pick of West Indies bowlers
taking two Bangladesh’s wickets for 26 and 32 runs respectively.

Shakib Al Hasan was adjudged as man of the series for his all round
display. Tamim Iqbal was named as best batsmen of the series.

West Indies won the first T20 and Tigers bounced back to win the next to
clinch this T20 series.

Brief score

Bangladesh- 184 for 5 in 20 overs. Tamim Iqbal 21, Soumya 5, Liton Das 61,
Shakib 24, Mushfiqur Rahim 12, Mahmudullah 32 n.o, Ariful 18 n.o , Paul 2/26,
Bratwaite 2/ 32 and Williams 1/32.

West Indies: 135 for 7 in 17.1 overs. Fletcher 6, Walton 19, Andre Russell
47, balls, Samuel 2, Powell 23, Ramdin 21, Carlos Brathwaite 5, Mustafizur
3/31 , Shakib 1/22, Rubel 1/ 28 , Soumya 1/18 and Abu Hider 1/27.

Result–Bangladesh beat West Indies by 19 runs according to D/L method.