JS budget session prorogued


SANGSAD BHABAN, July 12, 2018 (BSS) – The budget session (21st session) of the 10th Parliament was prorogued today.

This session in its 25 working days, saw passing of national budget for 2018-19 fiscal, supplementary budget for 2017-18 and 14 bills.

Speaker Dr Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury read out the prorogation order of the President of the fifth budget session, 21st session, at 6.40pm.

Prior to reading out the prorogation order, the Speaker thanked all lawmakers belonging to both treasury and opposition benches for reaching consensus in the House in a unique way in upholding parliamentary democratic practices.

“The budget session of the parliament became lively with the active participation of treasury and opposition lawmakers . . . their valuable opinion played a significant role in making the session more constructive,” She said.

Dr Shirin congratulated the lawmakers for taking part in the budget discussions side by side raising questions and call attention notices and hoped that the treasury and opposition benches would continue to play their constructive role in the House in future.

The session began on June 5 and Finance Minister Abul Maal Abdul Muhith placed on June 7 the national budget of Taka 4 lakh 64 thousand 573 crore for the fiscal
2018-19 in the House.

A total of 223 lawmakers including 181 treasury bench and 42 opposition members took part in the budget discussions for 55 hours and 55 minutes on the budget of the 2018-2019 fiscal, while three hours and 51 minutes on the supplementary budget during the session.

The session accepted 180 notices under the Section 71 of the Rules of Procedure, of which 22 notices were discussed in the House.

Besides, 38 notices were discussed for two minutes under the Section 71 (A) of the Rules of Procedure.

A total of 155 questions were received for the Prime Minister, of which she responded to 37 questions along with supplementary in the session.

The session received a total of 2,881 questions for different ministers, state ministers and deputy ministers and they replied to 2,029 questions including supplementaries.

Leader of the House and Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina, Leader of the Opposition Begum Rawshan Ershad, ministers, state ministers, treasury and opposition benches members took part in the businesses of the

Earlier, Leader of the House and Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina and Leader of the Opposition Begum Rawshan Ershad gave their valedictory speeches.

The Speaker thanked all parliament members, officials, print and electronic media personnel, law enforcers and fire service and civil defence for their restless
service towards holding the parliament session smoothly.