PM distributes National Film Awards-2016


DHAKA, July 8, 2018 (BSS) – Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina today distributed “The National Film Awards-2016” at a gala function at Bangabandhu International Conference Centre (BICC) in the city.

The prime minister handed over the awards, the highest state recognition for contributions to the country’s film industry, to 29 artistes and performers in 26 categories in the afternoon.

Information Minister Hasanul Haq Inu presided over the function while State Minister for the ministry Tarana Halim and Chairman of the Parliamentary Standing Committee on the ministry AKM Rahamatullah were present as special guests.

Information Secretary Abdul Malek delivered the welcome address at the function attended by ministers, members of parliament, senior government officials and other dignitaries.

Farida Akhter, better known by her screen name Babita, and Akbar Hossain Pathan, better known by his screen name Faruq, were jointly awarded the lifetime award in the function.

“Aggyatonama” was awarded as the best film of the year and its producer Faridur Reza Shagar was mentioned as the awardee for it.

S M Kamrul Ahsan was awarded for his film “Ghran” as the best film producer in the short film category.

In the best documentary category, “Jonmoshathi” was awarded as the best film and Ekattur Media Ltd and Muktijuddho Jadughar were jointly awarded for it.

Amitav Reza Chowdhury was presented with the best director award for his film “Ainabazi”.

Suchinta Chowdhury Chonchol, better known by his screen name Chonchol Chowdhury, was awarded as the best actor in the principal role for the film “Ainabazi”.

The best principal actress award went to Afroza Imroz Tisha and Kushum Shikder jointly for their films “Ostitto” and “Shonkhochil” respectively.

The best supporting actor award went to Ali Raz and Fazlur Rahman Babu jointly for their films “Purey Jai Mon” and “Meyeti Ekhon Kothay Jabey” respectively.

The best supporting actress award went to Tania Ahmed for her film “Krishnapakha”.

Shahiduzzaman Selim was awarded as the best villain in the film “Aggyatonama”.

The best child actor award went to Anum Rahman Khan for his role in the film “Shonkhochil”.

Imon Shaha bagged the best music director’s award for the film “Meyeti Ekhon Kothay Jabey.

Md Habib was awarded as the best dance director for the film “Niyoti”.

Wakil Ahmed was awarded as the best male singer for his song “Amrito Megher Bari” in the film “Darpan Bisharjan”.

Meher Afroz Shaon was given the award of the best female singer for her song “Jodi Mon Kandey Tumi Choley Esho” in the film “Krishnapakha”.

Gazi Mazharul Anwar was awarded as the best lyricist for his song “Bidhirey, o Bidhi Bidhi” in the film “Meyeti Ekhon Kothay Jabey”.

Imon Shaha was awarded for giving the best tune for the song “Bidhirey, O Bidhi Bidhi…”

Towkir Ahmed got the award of the best story writer for the film “Aggyatonama”.

The best script writer award went jointly to Onom Biswas and Goushul Azam for the film “Ainabazi”.

Syeda Rubayyat Hossain was awarded as the best dialogue writer for the film “Under Construction.”

The best editor award went to Iqbal Ahsanul Kabir for the film “Ainabazi”.

Uttam Guha was awarded as the best art director for the film “Shonkhochil”. Rashed Zaman was given the award of the best cinematographer for the film “Ainabazi”. Ripon Nath got the award of the best sound recordist for the film “Ainabazi’.

The best dress and decoration award went to Sattar and Farzana Shan jointly for the films “Niyoti” and “Ainabazi”, respectively.

Manik was awarded as the best make-up man for the film “Under-Construction”.