Hockey team leaves for Thailand tomorrow


DHAKA, July 11, 2019 (BSS) – The Bangladesh hockey team leave for Thailand tomorrow (Friday) morning to take part in the Indoor Asia Cup scheduled to be held on July 15-21 in Chonburi, Thailand.

The team was originally scheduled to depart for Thailand this (Thursday) morning but their departure has been delayed by one day as the players and officials did not get Thai visas on Wednesday.

Earlier on Thursday, the Bangladesh Hockey Federation (BHF) announced the 12-memebr final squad for the tournament.

This is for the first time that 11 teams will compete in the tournament which is the highest number of competing teams ever with Bangladesh, Myanmar, Nepal and the Philippines all making their debut.

Bangladesh have been grouped in Pool A along with defending champions Iran, Malaysia, Philippines and Thailand while the Pool B consist with Chinese Taipei, Kazakhstan, Myanmar, Nepal, Singapore and Uzbekistan.

Bangladesh will open their group A campaign taking on Malaysia on Monday (July 15) and will meet Iran on July 16.

The boys in red and green will play their third match against Philippines on July 17 before playing their final group match against Thailand on July 18.

The 12-member final squad are : Asim Gope (GK), Abu Sayed Nippon (GK), Imran Hassan Pintu, Rashel Mahmud Jimy, Ashraful Islam, Khorshedur Rahman, Farhad Ahmed Shitul, Fazle Hossain Rabbi, Sarwar Hossain, Mainul Islam Kowshik, Milon Hossain and Rumman Sarkar.

Officials: Hamidreza Bokharaei (head coach), Zahid Hossain Razu (coach), Jamil Abdun Naser (team manager) and Shahbaz Ali (umpire).