PM to open 6 power plants, 9 grid substations tomorrow


DHAKA, Feb 5, 2019 (BSS)- Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina is set to inaugurate six power plants, nine grid substations and one specialized electrification project for ensuring cent per cent power coverage in 12 upazilas tomorrow.

“Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina will inaugurate these power plants and grid substations through videoconferencing from her official Ganabhaban residence at 10am,” said Saiful Islam, Director of Public Relations of Power Development Board (PDB).

He said the six power plants are Bhola 225MW Combined Cycle Power Plant, Chandpur 200MW Power Plant, Ashuganj 150MW Power Plant, Rupsha in Khulna 105MW Power Plant, Julda in Chattogram 100MW Power Plant (3rd unit) and power supply to Sandwip Upazila through submarine cable.

The nine grid substations are Ramganj, Barishal (North), Baroiyerhat, Shikalbaha, Jaldhaka, Sunamganj, Bianibazar, Rangamati and Matarbari.

The 12 upazilas which came under cent per cent power coverage are Harinakundu, Thakurgaon sadar, Baliadangi, Goalanda, Kalukhali, Bamna, Lakhai, Shaistaganj, Ajmiriganj, Bahubal, Melandah and Islampur.