PM to open first ever six-lane flyover Jan 4: Quader


DHAKA, Dec 25, 2017 (BSS) – Awami League General Secretary and Road
Transport and Bridges Minister Obaidul Quader today said the country’s first six-lane Dhaka-Chittagong Flyover at Mohipal in Feni will open on January 4 in next year.

“Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina will inaugurate the flyover through a video conferencing from the Ganabhaban, the official residence of the Prime Minister, in the city,” he told journalists after inspecting construction work of the flyover this morning.

The construction work of country’s first ever six-lane flyover has been completed six months earlier than the stipulated time, he said.

He said there will be a four-lane road services both sides under the flyover though the flyover is a six-lane one.

The 660-meter six-lane flyover at Mohipal has been constructed involving Taka 181.48 crore under the supervision of Bangladesh Army to ease traffic congestion on the Dhaka-Chittagong Highway and its adjacent areas.

Project implementing agency 34th Engineer Construction Brigade Chief of Bangladesh Army Major General Siddiqur Rahman Sarker, Deputy Commissioner (DC) of Feni Manuj Kumar Ray, Feni district AL President and Sadar Upazila Parishad Chairman Abdur Rahman and Feni Jubo League General Secretary Shusen Chandra Sheel, among others, accompanied the minister during his inspection.

The premier will also inaugurate the dredging work of Noakhali Canal on the same day through the video conferencing, Quader said while visiting a site for setting up a plaque at Dhanshalik union of Kabirhat upazila in Noakhali district.

The dredging work will be complemented by June 2021 at a cost of Taka 324.98 crore under the supervision of Bangladesh Army, he added.

Major General Siddiqur Rahman, Noakhali district AL General Secretary Ekramul Karim Chowdhury, MP, Kabirhat Upazila Parishad Chairman Sheuli Ekram, Companiganj Upazila Parishad Chairman Mizanur Rahman Badal and Kabirhat Municipality Mayor Jahirul Haque Raihan, among others, accompanied the minister at that time.