04 Sep 2021, 14:08
Update : 04 Sep 2021, 18:48

By polls to Sylhet-3 constituency continues

File Photo

SYLHET, Sep 4, 2021 (BSS) - Voting continues in the by-elections to Sylhet-3 constituency, comprising part of South Surma Fenchuganj and Balaganj upazilas of Sylhet.

Polling is being conducted through electronic voting machines (EVMs) in 149 polling stations from 8 am this morning.

The by-election is being held as the seat became vacant after its lawmaker Mahmud Us Samad Chowdhury died flowing contacting Covid-19 on March 11 this year.

Awami League candidate Habibur Rahman Habib, Jatiya Party's Atiqur Rahman Atiq, former MP and BNP’s expelled leader Shafi Ahmed Chowdhury, and Junaid Md Mia of Bangladesh Congress are contesting the election.

The Election Commission has constituted a two-member 'Election Investigation Committee' with Sylhet Joint District and Sessions Judge Taslima Sharmin and Senior Assistant Judge Nirjan Kumar Mitra to prevent and control all possible irregularities during the election.

 Besides, magistrate, 18 members of police, Ansar and village police were deployed at the polling station. Also, 18-19 members of Ansar and Police have been deployed in the important centers.

Twenty one mobile team comprising police, APBN and Battalion Ansar, 12 striking forces, 12 RAB teams and 12 platoons BGB will be remained deployed till September 6 in the constituency to maintain law and order.

There is one executive magistrate in each union of the constituency with BGB.

The total eligible voters in the area are 3.52 lakh.

  • Latest News
  • Most View
Beta Version