AL finalizes nomination for councillor posts in CCC polls


DHAKA, Feb 19, 2020 (BSS) – Bangladesh Awami League(AL) today finalised the candidates in the councillor posts in the upcoming Chattogram City Corporation (CCC) elections slated for March 29.

The nomination was finalised at a meeting the AL Local Government Public Representatives Nomination Board held at Ganabhaban, the official residence of Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina, here tonight.

AL Local Government Public Representatives Nomination Board President and Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina chaired the meeting.

The meeting unanimously picked candidates in the councillor posts in 41 general wards and 14 reserved (women) wards of the CCC, said a press release signed by AL Office Secretary Barrister Biplab Barua.

The release said 41 candidates got nomination in the councillor posts in the 41 general wards, while 14 female candidates picked for vying election in 14 reserved (women) wards.

The candidates for the councillor posts in 41 general wards are: Gazi Md Shafiul Azim of Ward-1 (Pahartali), Mohammad Ibrahim of Ward-2 (Jalalabad), Kofil Uddin Khan of Ward-3 (Panchlaish), Md Saifuddin Khaled of Ward-4 (Chandgaon), Mohammad Kazi Nurul Amin of Ward-5 (Mohora), M Ashraful Alam of Ward-6 (Purba Sholo Shahar), Md Mobarak Ali of Ward-7 (Pashchim Sholo Shahar), Md Morshed Alam of Ward-8 (Shulok Bahar), Nurul Abser Miah of Ward-9 (Uttar Pahartoli), Nesar Uddin Ahmed of Ward-10 (Uttar Kattoli), Md Ismail of Ward-11 (Dakshin Kattoli), Md Nurul Amin of Ward-12 (Soraipara), Md Wasim Uddin Chowdhury of Ward-13 (Pahartali), Abul Hasnat Md Belal of Ward-14 (Lalkhan Bazar), Mohammad Gias Uddin of Ward-15 (Baghmoniram), Sayeed Golam Haider Mintoo of Ward-16 (Chawk Bazar), Mohammad Shahidul Alam of Ward-17 (Paschim Baklia), Mohammad Haroon-or-Rashid of Ward-18 (Purba Bakalia), Md Nurul Alam of Ward-19 (Dakshin Bakalia), Chowdhury Hasan Mahmud Hasni of Ward-20 (Dewan Bazar), Shoibal Dash Sumon of Ward-21 (Jamal Khan), Mohammad Solim Ullah of Ward-22 (Enayet Bazar), Mohammad Jabed of Ward-23 (Uttar Pathan Tuli), Nazmul Huq of Ward-24 (Uttar Agrabad), Abdus Sabur Liton of Ward-25 (Rampur), Mohammad Hossain of Ward-26 (Uttar Hali Shahar), Md Sheikh Jafrul Haider Chowdhury of Ward-27(Dakshin Agrabad), Nazrul Islam Bahadur of Ward-28 (Pathan Tuli), Golam Mohammad Jobaer of Ward-29 (Paschim Madar Bari), Ata Ullah Chowdhury of Ward-30 (Purba Madar bari), Md Abdus Salam of Ward-31 (Alkoron), Jahar Lal Hazari of Ward-32 (Andor Killa), Mohammad Salahuddin of Ward-33 (Phiringi Bazaar), Pulok Khastogir of Ward-34 (Pathor Ghata), Hazi Nurul Huq of Ward-35 (Boxir Hat), Hazi Jahangir Alam Chowdhury of Ward-36 (Gosail Danga), Md Hosen Murad of Ward-37 (U M Hali Shahar), Golam Md Chowdhury of Ward-38 (D M Hali Shahar), Ziaul Huq Sumon of Ward- 39 (Dakschin Hali Shahar), Abdul Barek of Ward-40 (Uttar Patenga) and Saleh Ahmed Chowdhury of Ward-41 (Dakshin Patenga).

On February 15, the AL nominated Chattogram City AL Joint General Secretary Rezaul Karim Chowdhury for the mayoral post in the CCC polls.

The Election Commission (EC) announced the schedule for the CCC elections on February 16.

According to the announced schedule, voting will be held in Chattogram City on March 29 and the nomination papers need to be submitted by February 27.

The nominations will be scrutinized on March 1 and the candidates can withdraw their nomination till March 8.

The voting in the CCC elections will be conducted on electronic voting machines (EVMs) from 9am to 5pm on March 29.