BPL to remain as Bangabandhu BPL


DHAKA, Jan 12, 2020 (BSS) – The Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) has decided to keep the name of the BPL as Bangabandhu BPL in coming years too.

The latest development came from the Board of Directors meeting of the BCB here today.

This year the Bangladesh Premier League, known as BPL, was dedicated to the Father of the Nation Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman to mark his birth centenary.

It was also considered as the special edition of BPL as BCB organized the tournament by its own with their directors in the charge of every seven teams.

They also left out the old franchisees who were the part of the BPL for the last six editions.

But the BCB decided the name Bangabandhu will be attached to the BPL in future too when they would welcome the old franchisees again.

“We decided to keep the title of BPL as Bangabandhu BPL in future too. This year it is dedicated to our Father of the Nation for his birth centenary. In the coming year when the old franchisees will back, the BPL will go back to its normal mode but the name will be Bangabandhu BPL,” BCB president Nazmul Hassan Papon said after the meeting.

“In the next year it won’t be special edition as the franchisees who were with BPL will come back here again.”