Dhaka, Friday, March 23, 2018


National : **PM urges countrymen to keep up achievement**   |   International : ** Trump to announce China trade sanctions on Thursday ** UN chief alarmed by chemical attacks in Syria ** Catalan parliament to vote on new president: speaker **   |   

Tigers off to Colombo to take part in Nidahas Trophy

DHAKA, March 4, 2018 (BSS)- Bangladesh national cricket team, led by Mahmudullah Riyad, left here for Sri Lanka today to take part in the Nidahas Trophy T20I series in Colombo, Sri Lanka.

The tournament will be held from March 6 to March 18.

Prior to the team's departure, Bangladesh captain Mahmudullah talking to the reporters said their first aim is to become champion in the tournament and they want to prove their worth in this format.

He said they are eying to make a good start by winning the first match of the tournament as the first match is very important for them.

Mahmudullah said questions were raised following team's dismal performance in the home series but I think it's a very good platform to prove ourselves in the tournament.

The Tigers' captain said all will have to give their best to achieve a good result in the tournament.

Three players -- Tamim Iqbal, Mostafizur Rahman and Sabbir Rahman - out of sixteen members of Bangladesh squad currently on PSL mission will join with the team later stage.

Apart from Bangladesh India and hosts Sri Lanka will take part in the tournament.

Bangladesh will open their tournament campaign taking on their neighboring powerhouse India on 8 March. Participating teams will play two matches against each other.

The tournament will come to an end with the final match on March 18. All the matches of the series will be played at R. Premadasa Stadium in Colombo under flood light.

Bangladesh T20I squad for Nidahas Trophy: Mahmudullah Riyad (captain), Tamim Iqbal, Imrul Kayes, Soumya Sarkar, Mushfiqur Rahim, Sabbir Rahman, Nurul Hasan Sohan, Mehedi Hasan Miraz, Mustafizur Rahman, Rubel Hossain, Abu Haider Rony, Abu Jayed Rahi, Ariful Haque, Liton Das and Nazmul Islam Apu.

Nidahas Trophy 2018 fixtures:

March 6, 2018 - Sri Lanka vs India

March 8, 2018 - India vs Bangladesh

March 10, 2018 - Sri Lanka vs Bangladesh

March 12, 2018 - Sri Lanka vs India

March 14, 2018 - India vs Bangladesh

March 16, 2018 - Sri Lanka vs Bangladesh

March 18, 2018 - The Final