Dhaka, Saturday, March 17, 2018


National : ** President, PM pay homage to Bangabandhu at Tungipara**UN declares Bangladesh's eligibility for graduation from LDCs ** 99th birthday of Bangabandhu being celebrated across country ***   |   International : *** Canada to send peacekeepers to Mali: official***   |   

New train to ferry commuters from N'ganj

DHAKA, Feb 23, 2013 (BSS) - A new train called Diesel- Electric Multiple Unit (DEMU) would start ferrying commuters between Dhaka and Narayanganj by this week.

"The DEMU will be added to Bangladesh Railway fleet by this week to ferry commuters in Dhaka-Narayanganj section," Railways Minister Mohammad Mazibul Hoque told BSS today.

As per the shipment schedule, the DEMUs are being unloaded in the Chittagong port today to reach Dhaka within two days, he said.

The minister said the first phase of the DEMU will ply Dhaka- Narayanganj route while second and third phase will be operated on other routes like Chittagong, Rajshahi and Dhaka- Joydevpur routes of the country soon.

An official of Bangladesh Railway familiar with the process said, "The commuter trains with at least 300 seats each travel at a speed of 80 kilometres an hour and facilitate journey of short- distance passengers."

He said a Chinese Company -- Tangshan Railway Vehicle Company Ltd -- is supplying the DEMUs involving Taka 426 crore funded by the government.

"The railway has procured 20 sets of DEMU aimed at giving better service to commuters and ferrying short distance passengers," the official said.

He said the trains can run on either diesel fuel, electricity or hybrid. Modular interior design exists in the High Class and Intercity versions. The DEMU trains are fitted with electric traction motors powered by an on-board diesel engine and do not require any overhead electric lines.

"Such trains are suitable for areas with high traffic density or suburban areas. Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina has taken various projects to give better services and increase frequency of train movement," the official said.

According to the BR schedule, the DEMUs would ply different routes including Dhaka-Narayanganj, Dhaka-Joydevpur, Dhaka- Tangail, Dhaka-Bhairab Bazar, Chittagong-Feni, Chittagong- Dohazari, Dinajpur-Parbatipur-Rangpur and Lalmonirhat-Parbatipur.