BFF name 23-member squad for Bangabandhu Int’l Gold Cup


DHAKA, Sept 27, 2018 (BSS)- Bangladesh Football Federation (BFF) on
Thursday announced a 23-member national team squad for the Bangabandhu
International Gold Cup Football tournament scheduled to be held from October
1 to 12 at three separate venues across the country.

The national football team will head for Sylhet tomorrow (Friday) under the
leadership of National football team manager Satyajit Das Rupu to play their
opening match of the tournament against Laos scheduled to be held on October
1 at Sylhet district stadium.

It would be the fifth edition of the most coveted competition while this
time BFF is going to organise the tournament after one year interval when the
fourth edition was held in 2016.

The group stage matches will be held in Sylhet, while the two semifinals
are slated in Cox’s Bazar and the final will take place at Bangabandhu
National Stadium on October 12.

Apart from hosts Bangladesh, Palestine, Philippines, Laos, Nepal and
Tajikistan will compete in the prestigious international tournament. Nepal,
Philippines and Philistine have agreed to send their national teams in the

Bangladesh has been drawn in Group B of the 6-nation tournament along with
Laos and Philippines whereas Nepal, Palestine and Tajikistan have been pitted
in Group A.

23-member final squad:
Ashraful Islam Rana, Anisur Rahman, Rasel Mahmud, Bishwanath Ghosh, Tutul
Hosain Badsha, Topu Barman, M Waly Faisal, Rahmat Mia, Yeasin khan, Mamunul
Islam Mamun, Mohammad Atiqur Rahman Fahad, Jamal Bhuiyan, Masuk Miah Zoni
Biplo Ahamed, M Emon Mahmud, Mohammad Rabiul Hasan, Jafar Iqbal, Mohammad
Ibrahim, Mahbubur Rahman, Mohammad Nabib Newaz Ziban, Tawhidul Alam Sabuz, M
Matin Miah and Mohammad Jabed Khan.