PM opens four power plants, 100pc electrification in 10 UZs

DHAKA, Dec 10, 2017 (BSS)- Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina today inaugurated four new power plants including two solar power plants as well 100 percent electrification in 10 upazilas.

The prime minister opened the four power plants and 100 percent electrification in 10 upazilas through a videoconferencing from her official Ganabhaban residence here this morning.

The power plants are Shikalbaha 225-MW Combined Cycle Power Plant, Chapainawabganj 100-MW Power Plant, Shalla 400 kilowatt Solar Power Plant and Sharishabari 3-MW Solar Power Plant.

The 10 upazilas brought under 100 percent electrification are Faridpur Sadar upazila in Faridpur, Rajoir upazila in Madaripur, Kamarkhand in Sirajganj, Akhaura in Brahmmanbaria, Brahmmanbaria Sadar, Shalikha in Magura, Meherpur Sadar, Madan in Netrakona and Belabo in Narsingdi.

PM’s Energy Adviser Dr Towfiq-e-Elahi Chowdhury and State Minister for Power, Energy and Mineral Resources Nasrul Hamid Bipu spoke at the function from Ganabhaban.

Law Minister Advocate Anisul Haque, Chairman of the Parliamentary Standing on the Ministry of Power M Tazul Islam, Saudi Ambassador to Bangladesh Abdullah HM Al Mutairi, Kuwaiti Ambassador to Bangladesh Adel Mohammed A.H. Hayat and senior officials of the Saudi Export Programme and Saudi Fund for Development were present at Ganabhaban. Power Division Secretary Dr Ahmad Kaikaus gave an overview on the power sector development through a power point presentation, while PM’s Principal Secretary Dr Kamal Abdul Naser Chowdhury moderated the function at Ganabhaban.

The prime minister later exchanged views with cross section of people including public representatives, Awami League leaders, officials of the administration and the beneficiaries.