PM approves 5 more medical colleges: Nasim


SANGSAD BHABAN, Sept 20, 2018 (BSS) – Health and Family Welfare Minister Mohammad Nasim today said the Prime Minister very recently approved establishment of five more public medical colleges in the country.

“We have established 14 public medical colleges after assuming to power in 2009 and the country has now 31 public medical colleges,” he said this, while replying to a starred question from treasury bench member Begum Nasrin Jahan Ratna in the Jatiya Sangsad today.

Mohammad Nasim said the new five medical colleges to be set up in Netrokona, Naogaon, Nilphamari, Magura and Chandpur districts.

“To this end, the government has been taking urgent necessary activities. Considering necessity, the government would undertake initiative to establish medical colleges in all districts,” he said.

The minister informed the House that the government established medical colleges in Jashore, Satkhira, Kishorganj, Kushtia, Gopalganj, Gazipur, Manikganj, Jamalpur, Tangail, Sirajganj, Patuakhali, Rangamati, Dhaka and Habiganj district.