Report on Rajshahi Development Authority Bill, 2017 placed in JS


SANGSAD BHABAN, Nov 22, 2017 (BSS) – The Parliamentary Standing Committee on Housing and Public Works Ministry today placed the Rajshahi Development Authority Bill, 2017 in the House.

Committee Chairman Alhaz M Dabirul Islam placed the report in the Jatiya Sangsd with Speaker of the Jatiya Sangsad Dr Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury in the chair.

The committee scrutized the bill while it held meetings on October 4 and October 26 at the Jatiya Sangsad Bhaban.

The Committee members Engineer Mosharraf Hossen, Kamal Ahmed Mojumder, M Zahid Ahsan Rasel, Sadan Chandra Majumder, AKM Fazlul Haq, M Abu Zahir, Abu Saleh Mohammad Sayeed, Begum Noor-E-Hasna Lili Chowdhury and Begum Noor Jahan Begum participated in the meeting.

Earlier, the cabinet has given final approval to the draft of the Rajshahi Development Authority Bill 2016 aimed at ensuring logical use of land and development of the city under a master plan.

The approval was given in the weekly meeting of the cabinet held on June 19 at the cabinet room of the Jatiya Sangsad with Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina in the chair.

No organization or individual would carry out any construction or excavation works without prior approval of the Rajshahi Development Authority (RDA), cabinet secretary M Shafiul Alam said while briefing reporters at Bangladesh Secretariat.

The cabinet secretary said the RDA will have a 15 member Executive Board headed by a chairman and four fulltime members. Deputy Commissioner of Rajshahi district, Chief Executive Officer of Rajshahi City Corporation (RCC) and representatives of different government agencies will be the member of the board.

The RDA will function as like as Rajdhani Unnyan Katripakka (RAJUK) and Chittagong Development Authority (CDA). It will prepare a master plan for planned development of the area under its jurisdiction.

The bill has a provision of penalty of Taka 50,000 and one year imprisonment in case of violation of the law.