BSP-03 16 teams to compete at FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup in France




16 teams to compete at FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup in France

PARIS, Aug. 5, 2018 (BSS/Xinhua) – Brittany in northwestern part of France
is ready to embrace the ninth edition of the FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup
witnessing a total of 16 teams across the globe.

The tournament will raise the curtain with four matches of Group A and B
on Sunday.

FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup was founded in 2002 as the the FIFA U-19
Women’s World Championship, before the age limit has been raised to the
current 20 since 2006. The event has been renamed as a World Cup since the
2008 competition.

Starting in 2010, the tournament was held one year prior to the FIFA
Women’s World Cup in the same hosting country, similar to the role of the
FIFA Confederations Cup in men’s counterpart.

The United States and Germany have been the most successful teams with
each winning three titles, and the remaining two champions went to DPR Korea.

However, no team has been successful in defending the title, and current
holders DPR Korea are much looking forward to changing that fate.

China, qualifying through last year’s AFC U-19 Women’s Championship, are
placed in Group D with Germany, Nigeria and Haiti, with the group opener
against debutants Haiti next Monday.

China’s previous best results were runners-up in 2004 and 2006, but they
failed to survive group stage in latest three attempts, in 2008, 2012 and
2014. As for the 2010 and 2016 tournaments, China failed to make into the

BSS/Xinhua/MSY/0902 hrs