Litan wins in Rajshahi; Sadiq, Ariful lead in Barishal, Sylhet


DHAKA, July 31, 2018 (BSS) – The Awami League mayoral candidate AHM Khairuzzaman Liton was declared elected unofficially in Rajshahi city polls held on Monday while the announcement of the results remains postponed in Barishal and Sylhet.

In Rajshahi, Awami League mayoral candidate AHM Khairuzzaman Liton bagged 165,096 votes to defeat his nearest rival BNP-backed Mosaddek Hossain Bulbul who got 77,700 in all the 138 election centres.

Returning officer Syed Amirul Islam announced the results on Monday night.

Election Commission (EC) sources said there are a total of 3,18,138 voters in Rajshahi City Corporation. Among them, 1,56,085 are male and 1,62,053 female. Of the total voters, 2,50,881 voters cast their votes.

In Barishal, AL candidate Serniabat Sadiq Abdullah is leading with 107,353 votes while his nearest rival Mujibur Rahman Sarwar of BNP got 13,135 in 107 centres out of total 123.

Returning officer Mujibur Rahman announced the results at around 11:50pm.

There are 2,42,666 voters in Barisal City Corporation. Of them, 1,21,436 are male and 1,20,739 female.

In Sylhet, the announcement of the results was postponed as the number of votes in two centres where voting was suspended is higher than the difference between the two leading candidates’ tallies.

BNP mayoral candidate Ariful Haque Chowdhury bagged 90,496 votes in 132 centres out of total 134 while AL’s Badar Uddin Ahmed Kamran got 85,870 votes.

Ariful is leading by 4,628 votes while the number of voters in the two centres is 4,726.

Under such circumstances, returning officer Mohammad Alimuzzaman postponed the announcement of the results around 11:45pm.

In SCC, there are 3,21,732 voters. Of them, 1,7144 are male and 1,50288 female.

The balloting that started at 8 am continued till 4 pm.

The city elections are the last major polls before the next general election expected to be held in December this year.