WIndies win toss, bat against Bangladesh


NORTH SOUND, Antigua and Barbuda, July 4, 2018 (BSS/AFP) – West Indies captain Jason Holder won the toss and put Bangladesh in to bat on the opening day of the first Test of a two-match series at the Sir Vivian Richards Stadium in Antigua on Wednesday.

Fresh from a drawn three-match duel with Sri Lanka characterised by fast bowler-friendly pitches, the rare sight of a greenish surface at a venue which traditionally has been a batsman’s paradise would have influenced Holder’s decision to bat first and also retain the same bowling line-up, including himself, which features four faster bowlers and the lone specialist spinner in Devendra Bishoo.

West Indies selectors have also resisted the temptation to omit opening batsman Devon Smith, who struggled in the Sri Lanka series following a recall to international cricket after three years.

In the absence of injured seamer Mustafizur Rahman, who was ruled out of the tour, 24-year-old Abu Jayed makes his Test debut in a Bangladesh line-up that features five players, including captain Shakib al Hasan, who were members of the triumphant Bangladesh squad which dominated the depleted hosts on their tour of the Caribbean in 2009.

On their last visit to the West Indies though in 2014, the Bangladeshis were outplayed by a full-strength home side.


West Indies: Jason Holder (capt), Kraigg Brathwaite, Devon Smith, Shai Hope, Kieran Powell, Shane Dowrich (wk), Roston Chase, Devendra Bishoo, Miguel Cummins, Shannon Gabriel, Kemar Roach

Bangladesh: Shakib al Hasan (capt), Tamim Iqbal, Liton Das, Mominul Haque, Mahmudullah, Mushfiqur Rahim, Nurul Hasan (wk), Mehidy Hasan, Abu Jayed, Rubel Hossain, Kamrul Islam