Vote counting of by-polls to Dhaka-5, Naogaon-6 begins


DHAKA, Oct 17, 2020 (BSS) – Counting of votes began immediately after the balloting in the by polls to Dhaka-5 and Naogaon-6 constituencies held today in a peaceful manner through using Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs).

The voting of the two seats began at 9 am and ended at 5 pm without any break, according to the Election Commission (EC) sources.

In Dhaka-5 constituency under the Dhaka South City Corporation (DSCC), the voting was held in 187 polling stations where a total of four lakh 71 thousand 129 voters under 14 wards are enlisted to cast their votes to elect their lawmaker.

Meanwhile, voting of Naogaon-6 constituency– comprising Raninagar and Atrai—was held in 104 polling stations under 16 unions. The total number of voters in this constituency is three lakh six thousand 725.

According to the EC sources, all necessary preparations have been taken for holding the polls in a free, fair and peaceful environment.

A total of six candidates are contesting in the by-polls to Dhaka-5 constituency. They are Awami League (AL) backed M Kazi Monirul Islam, BNP nominated Salah Uddin Ahmed, Gonofront backed HM Ibrahim Bhuiyan, Jatiya Party nominated Mir Abdus Sabur, M Ansar Rahman Shikder of Bangladesh Congress and M Arifur Rahman alias Suman Master of Bangladesh Peoples Party.

Besides, three candidates are vying for Naogaon-6 constituency by-election. They are AL nominated M Anwar Hossain (Helal), BNP nominated Sheikh Mohammad Rezaul Islam and National People’s Party’s Khandaker Intekhab Alam.

The seats became vacant after the death of Habibur Rahman Mollah in Dhaka on May 8 and Israfil Alam in Naogaon on July 28.

In order to maintain the law and order situation, two Judicial Magistrates and 14 Executive Magistrates have been serving in the Dhaka-5 elections since October 15.

At the same time, the same number of Judicial Magistrates and Executive Magistrates are performing their duties in Naogaon by-polls.

Additional members of the law enforcement agencies have been deployed in the electoral areas.