Tk 105.97 crore allocated for flood victims


DHAKA, Sept 05, 2017 (BSS) – The government allocated over Taka 105.97 crore for relief operation to help meet the emergency needs of the people in 35 districts of the country those were badly affected by the recent flooding.

“The allocated money were spent for distributing rice and dry food and providing cash support to flood affected people from August 9 to 25 in 35 districts,” Director General of Department of Disaster Management Md Reaz Ahmed told BSS.

He said the government would allocate more money as per the requirement that would be received from the district administrations concerned.

Besides the massive relief operation and humanitarian supports, the Disaster Management and Relief Ministry with support from different ministries concerned has taken steps to rehabilitate the flood affected people.

“We will continue relief operations until floodwater recedes, and vulnerable people will get goods and cash supports for next three months,” he said.

The high official said farmers in the flood affected areas would be given necessary agro-inputs, including fertilizers and seeds so they could minimize their crop losses.

According to the Disaster Management and Relief Ministry, a total of 2,918 medical teams are now working in flood hit districts to provide emergency healthcare services and protect people from water-borne diseases.

The disaster ministry officials said the government has also taken initiatives to rebuild houses and other infrastructures damaged by floodwater.

According to official data, 81 lakh 77 thousand 135 people in 35 districts of the country were affected by the devastating flood, damaging 54,701 houses completely and 6 lakh 37 thousand 622 houses partially. Crops of 6 lakh 9 thousand 761 hectares of land were also washed away by the floodwater.

The flood-affected districts include Dinajpur, Nilphamari, Lalmonirhat, Kurigram, Thakurgaon, Panchagarh, Gaibandha, Bogra, Sirajganj, Kishorganj, Sunamganj, Netrokona, Rangamati, Brahmanbaria, Faridpur, Rajbari, Jessore, Mymensingh, Tangail, Sylhet, Sherpur, Dhaka, Moulvibazar, Gopalganj, Comilla, Rangpur, Naogaon, Joypurhat, Madaripur, Sharaitpur, Chandpur, Munshiganj, Natore, Manikganj and Jamalpur.