EC begins electoral dialogue


DHAKA, July 31, 2017 (BSS) – The Election Commission (EC) started dialogue with civil society members today to seek their opinions in holding the next Jatiya Sangsad (parliamentary) elections.

The talk, which is a part of the EC’s planned dialogue with different political parties and other stakeholders, began this morning with Chief Election Commissioner (CEC) KM Nurul Huda in the chair.

EC official told BSS that a good number of representatives of the civil society are attending the dialogue at the Election Commission in the capital city.

The issues of the discussion include amendments to the electoral laws and delimitation of the electoral constituencies, finalizing of flawless voters’ list, fixation of voting centers and registration of new political parties.

SM Asaduzzaman, director public relation of the EC, told BSS yesterday that EC invited a total of 59 civil society members to attend the meeting.

The invited representatives include: former advisers to the Caretaker Government Dr Akbar Ali Khan, M Hafiz Uddin Khan, Advocate Sultana Kamal, Abdul Muyeed Chowdhury, Dr Wahid Uddin Mahmud, Begum Rasheda K Chowdhury, Mirza Azizul Islam, Begum Rokeya A Rahman and Dr Hossain Zilliur Rahman, Justice Ghulam Rabbani, former Bangladesh Bank Governor Dr Forash Uddin, Barrister Rafiqul Haque, Dr Shahdin Malik, former cabinet secretary Ali Imam Majumder, former secretary Sa’dat Hossain, fellow of the Centre for Policy Dialogue (CPD) Dr Debiopriya Bhatcharya, Major General (retd) SM Shamsul Arefin, Prof Nazrul Islam, Dr Jamilur Reza Chowdhury, Prof Dr Ajoy Ray, Dr Qazi Kholiquzzaman Ahmad, Prof Syed Anower Hossain, Prof Abul Barakat,Chairman of Bangladesh Sangbad Sangstha (BSS) Rahat Khan, columnist Syed Abul Maksud, Senior Journalist of Prothom Alo Mizanur Rahman Khan and executive director of Transparency International Bangladesh Dr