14 industrial units to get president award


DHAKA, June 28, 2019 (BSS) – Fourteen industrial units are going to receive
‘President’s Award for Industrial Development 2017’ tomorrow in six
categories for their significant contribution to the economy of the country.

President Md Abdul Hamid will hand over the awards to the representatives
of the recipient industrial units at a function to be held at the Inter
Continental hotel in the city, said Industries Minister Nurul Majid Mahmud
Humayun at a press conference at Industries Ministry here today.

State Minister for Industries Kamal Ahmed Mojumder and Industries Secretary
Md Abdul Halim, among others, were present at the press conference.

Humayun said the award will be given in six categories covering all major
sectors – large industry, medium industry, small industry, micro industry,
cottage industry and hi-tech industry.

He said the government has introduced different recognitions, including
CIP (Industry) card and Productivity and Quality Excellence Award, for
encouraging the businessmen as they can play more roles in developing
country’s economy.

“The President’s Award for Industrial Development will encourage the
country’s entrepreneurs to set up more industries,” he added.

Kamal Mojumder said the government has a plan to include state-owned
industries in the president’s award to enhance their performance.

“We have a plan to change the award-giving policy from next year… We will
give chance to the state-owned industries to take part in the competition for
receiving the president’s award,” he added.

Three awardees under the large industry category are Square Pharmaceuticals
Limited, Envoy Textiles Limited and Olympia Industries Limited.

Green Textile Limited, D and S Pretty Fashions Limited and JME Agro Limited
have been selected for medium-industry category award.

Auto Tex Limited, APS Apparels Limited and BSP Food Product (Private)
Limited have been selected for small industry category award.

Meanwhile, Smart Leather Products will be awarded for micro industry
category while Corr the Jute Works and Protibeshi Proshikhon Kendro and Kutir
Shilpa Unnyan Sangstha will be honored with the President’s Award in cottage
industry category.

Service Engine Limited and Nasania Limited will be awarded in hi-tech
industry category.