PM reiterates govt’s firm stance against drugs


DHAKA, July 20, 2017 (BSS) – Reiterating her government’s firm stance against drugs, Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina today said she has already directed authorities concerned to stop fish catching in the Naf river to check “yaba” smuggling.

“I’ve already directed the authorities concerned to stop fish catching for some days along Myanmar bordering Naf river as “yaba” tablets are smuggled on this route through fishing boats,” she said.

The premier added: “We are discussing the issue with the Myanmar government.”

The Prime Minister made the remarks when a delegation of the Bangladesh Network for Non-Communicable Disease (NCD) Control and Prevention called on her at her office this noon.

President of Bangladesh Network for Non-Communicable Disease (NCD) Control and Prevention and National Professor Brigadier (retd) Abdul Malik led the 10-member team.

After the meeting, PM’s Press Secretary Ihsanul Karim briefed reporters.

Sheikh Hasina said her government is taking actions to check use of drugs and their trade in the country.

She also put emphasis on prevention of diseases, saying that much awareness will have to be built against the diseases.

The delegation members of Bangladesh Network for NCD Control and Prevention expressed their interest to work with the government on preventing non-communicable diseases like heart, diabetes and neuro.

In reply, the prime minister said measures to this end will be taken after a discussion in the National Health Council.

Sheikh Hasina also apprised the delegation of her government’s steps taken for the development of the healthcare services in the country.

“We’ve given priority to the health sector and after assuming office, we have procured necessary modern equipment for ensuring better medical treatment for the people,” she said.

PM’s Principal Secretary Dr Kamal Abdul Naser Chowdhury and Senior PMO Secretary Suraiya Begum were present. The delegation included Prof AK Azad Khan, Kazi Rafiqul Alam, Prof Harun-Ur-Rashid Prof Kazi Deen Mohammad, Dr Amzad Hossain, Prof Mollah Obaidullah Baki and Prof AKM Mohibullah.