Bring up children with anti-corruption outlook: Ashiqur Rahman


RANGPUR, April 16, 2018 (BSS) – Chairman of the Parliamentary Standing Committee on the Public Administration Ministry HN Ashiqur Rahman has called for bringing up of the children with an anti-corruption outlook to build a corruption free society.

“It is not possible to establish a corruption free society without infusing moral education to the children as corruption has expanded everywhere causing erosion of social norms, values and principles,” he said.

Ashiqur Rahman expressed the views while addressing a function styled “The Best Corruption Prevention Committee (CPC) Award-2017” held at conference room of the Deputy Commissioner here on Sunday afternoon as the chief guest.

Rangpur District Combined Office of Anti Corruption Commission (ACC) organised the event with assistance of the district and divisional administrations for distributing crests and medals among the best upazila and district level best CPCs of Rangpur division.

With Deputy Commissioner of Rangpur Enamul Habib in the chair, Divisional Commissioner Kazi Hasan Ahmed, Additional Deputy Inspector General (DIG) for Rangpur Range Bashir Ahmed and Deputy Director of Dinajpur District Combined Office of ACC Benazir Ahmed, addressed the function as special guests.

Assistant Director of Rangpur District Combined Office of ACC delivered welcome speech narrating the extent of corruption and its negative impacts on national progress and roles being playing by the CPCs in creating social awareness against corruption.

Ashiqur Rahman said, “It is the high time to create hatred against corruption among the people for improving social and moral values and principles as advancement of the country might become very hard without containing corruption.”

He put emphasis on establishing the belief of ‘Nobody can escape consequences after committing corruption today or tomorrow’ in the society to prevent corruption on way to build a developed Bangladesh by 2041 for better future of the children.

Later, the chief guest distributed medals and crests among members of Kurigram District CPC (best district committee), Kawnia Upazila CPC (best upazila committee), Birampur Upazila CPC (second best upazila committee) and Rajarhat Upazila CPC (third best upazila committee).