NICAR changes English spelling of five districts


DHAKA, April 2, 2018 (BSS) – The government has decided to change the English spelling of five districts in congruity with Bangla pronunciation of their names.

The decision was taken at a meeting of the National Implementation Committee for Administrative Reform (NICAR) today at Prime Minister’s Office (PMO) with Prime Minister and Chairperson of NICAR Sheikh Hasina in the chair.

According to the NICAR decision port city Chittagong will be spelled as Chattogram, Comilla as Cumilla, Barisal as Barishal, Jessore as Jashore and Bogra as Bogura.

Secretary of the Cabinet Division (coordination and reforms) N M Ziaul Alam informed the decisions of the NICAR meeting at a briefing at Bangladesh Secretariat here this afternoon.

Names of the other districts having differences in Bangla and English spelling would be changed gradually, Ziaul Alam said.

The NICAR also approved a proposal to turn Mymensingh pourashava into Mymensingh City Corporation.

The 12th city corporation of the country will be constituted including existing Pourasabha area, two unions of Mymensingh Sadar Upazila and part of six adjoining unions.

The unions of Sadar upazila are Boira and Akura and adjoining unions are Khad Dahar, Char Ishwardia, Dakunia, Bhab Khali, Chirta and Charni Lakkiya.

The total area of the city corporation will be 91.315 square kilometers and its population will be around 4,71,858, he said.

NICAR also decided to shift the headquarters of newly constituted Lalmai Upazila of Comilla from 47 Joynagar mouja to 36 Uttara Fatepur mouja.

The decision of NICAR came as the 47 Joynagar mouja is an agricultural area and a three-kilometer away from the main road, Ziaul Alam said, adding that Uttar Fatepur mouja, a brick field area, is nearer to the main road.