Mehidy stars of Abahani’s crushing victory in super league


 DHAKA, April 2, 2018 (BSS)- An all-round performance came from Abahani Limited saw them to register a crushing 127-run victory over Khelaghar Samaj Kalyan Samity in the super league of Dhaka Premier Division Cricket League held on Monday.

With this victory Abahani Limited maintained their top position in the points table with 22 points from 15 matches while Khelaghar amaja Kalyan Samity remained at their previous credit of 14 points playing the same number of outings.

Put to bat first by Khelaghar, Abahani Limited scored a decent total of 241 for all in 46.3 overs courtesy of two half centuries by opener Nazmul Hossain Shanto (54) and Mehidy Hasan (50).

Anamul Haque (27) and Sunzamul Islam (23) were the other notable scorers for Abahani Limited. Abdul Halim was the most successful bowler for Khelaghar as he claimed four wickets giving away 10 runs.

In reply, Khelaghar found the chase stiff and eventually dismissed at a paltry total of 114 in 27.3 overs at Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium at Mirpur.

Mahidul Hasan Ankon was the top scorer with 27 runs followed by Anjum Ahmed (24), Masum Khan (23 n.o) and Robiul Islam Robi after the Khelaghar’s batsmen failed to stage a fight back in the face of tight bowling display by the Abahani’s bowlers.

Mashrafe Mortza was the pick of Abahani bowler as he claimed three Khelaghar’s wickets for 32 runs. He was well supported by Sandip Roy, Nasir Hossain and Taskin Ahmed who all shared two wickets apiece.

Mehidy Hasan of Abahani Limited was named the player of the match.