BCB announces 16-member squad for Nidahas Trophy T20I series


 DHAKA, Feb 26, 2018 (BSS)- The Bangladesh Cricket board (BCB) on Monday announced the 16-member squad for the upcoming Nidihas Trophy T20I tri-series naming Shakib Al Hasan as the captain and Mahmudullah Riyad as his deputy.

Leading all-rounder Shakib Al Hasan has been included in the squad despite not making a full recovery from his injury yet. However, as Shakib’s presence remains doubtful due to injury concerns, Mahmudullah may lead Bangladesh in the first match against India. Shakib earlier missed the two- match T20I home series against Sri Lanka due to injury problem.

Meanwhile, legendary Caribbean pacer and bowling coach of Bangladesh – Courtney Walsh has been given charge of head coach of the team for the tournament.

Four cricketers – Mohammad Saifuddin, Mahedi Hasan, Zakir Hasan, Afif Hossain, who were part of the recently concluded two-match T20I home series against Sri Lanka, have been dropped from the squad.

Opener Imrul Kayes alongside Nurul Hasan Sohan, Mehidy Hasan Miraz and Taskin Ahmed have been called up and added again in the squad for the series.

Nidahas Trophy 2018 is scheduled to begin from March 6 in Sri Lanka involving host Sri Lanka, Bangladesh and India. Bangladesh will open their tournament campaign taking on their neighboring powerhouse India on March 8.

Each participating team will play two matches against each other. The tournament will come to an end with the final match scheduled on March 18. All the matches of the series will be played at R. Premadasa Stadium in Colombo under flood light.

Bangladesh T20I squad for Nidahas Trophy:

Shakib Al Hasan (captain) Mahmudullah Riyad (vice-captain), Tamim Iqbal, Imrul Kayes, Soumya Sarkar, Mushfiqur Rahim, Sabbir Rahman, Nurul Hasan Sohan, Mehedi Hasan Miraz, Mustafizur Rahman, Rubel Hossain, Abu Haider Rony, Abu Jayed Rahi, Ariful Haque and Nazmul Islam Apu.

Nidahas Trophy 2018 fixtures: March 6, 2018 – Sri Lanka vs India March 8, 2018 – India vs Bangladesh March 10, 2018 – Sri Lanka vs Bangladesh March 12, 2018 – Sri Lanka vs India March 14, 2018 – India vs Bangladesh March 16, 2018 – Sri Lanka vs Bangladesh March 18, 2018 – The Final