Tigers’ bowling camp begins tomorrow


DHAKA, Feb 21, 2018 (BSS)- After a disappointing tri-nation, Test and T20 home series against Sri Lanka, the Tigers will back to business as they will start fast bowling camp comprising of 14 pacers and five batsmen tomorrow ahead of their Nidahas Trophy Twenty20 International tri-series tournament, starting on March 6 in Sri Lanka.

Apart from Bangladesh, India and Sri Lanka will also be participating in the three-nation tournament. India will take on Sri Lanka in the opener of the tri-series tournament, starting on March 6.

As per the schedule released on the Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) website, the tournament will follow a round-robin format in which the three teams play each other twice. The top two teams will lock horns in the title clash on March 18.

The tournament has been organised to mark the 70th anniversary of Sri Lanka’s independence.

“70 years is a long journey, and one that needs to be commemorated and celebrated. We are happy that our closest neighbours, who share more or less the same journey of independence are joining us in this celebration, which we believe will be a milestone and an augur of the great things to come in the annals of cricket,” said SLC President Thilanga Sumathipala while announcing the tournament.

The matches will be played under lights at the R Premadasa Stadium in Colombo.

The Complete Schedule is as follows:

March 6: Sri Lanka v India

March 8: Bangladesh v India

March 10: Sri Lanka v Bangladesh

March 12: India v Sri Lanka

March 14: India v Bangladesh

March 16: Bangladesh v Sri Lanka

March 18: Final