BSP-16 Mushfiqur stars of Chittagong Vikings victory in BPL




Mushfiqur stars of Chittagong Vikings victory in BPL

SYLHET, Jan 19, 2019 (BSS)- Chittagong Vikings recorded their fourth win in the Bangladesh Premier League T20 beating Khulna Titans by 26 runs in the 22nd match of the tournament held on Saturday at Sylhet International Cricket Stadium.

Chasing a massive winning target of 215 runs set by Chittagong, Khulna were in early trouble losing their three top orders batsmen at 18 runs inside 3.1 overs and eventually they were restricted at 188 in 20 overs.

Abu Jayed struck early on Khulna’s innings removing Paul Stirling for duck and bagged his second wicket haul sending back to Al Amin for 5.

Another opener Junaid Siddique also lasted a little as he fell to Khaled Ahmed, leaving Khulna in trouble.

Khulna could not fight back losing wickets in regular intervals in the face of tight bowling display by the Chittagong Vikings bowlers.

Skipper Mahmudullah offered some resistance with 26-ball off 50 runs hitting three boundaries and four over boundaries while David Wise smashed 20-ball off 40 runs with the help of two boundaries and four over boundaries.

Brendon Taylor (28) and Taijul Islam (22 n.o) were the other notable scorers for Khulna.

Abu Jayed was the most successful bowler as he claimed three Khulna’s wickets conceding 33 runs. He was well supported Cameron Delport and Khaled Ahmed who bagged two wickets each giving way 25 and 29 runs respectively.

Mushfiqur Rahim of Chittagong was named the player of the match.

Earlier, blistering half centuries came from Yasir Ali and Mushfiqur Rahim helped Chittagong Vikings to post a daunting total of 214 for 4 from their allotted 20 overs after they were forced to bat first by Khulna Titans.

After the departure of two Chittagong openers – Mohammad Shahzad (33) and Cameron Delport (13) contributed 114 runs for the third wicket stand to take Chittagong to a commanding position.

Yasir blasted 36-ball off 54 runs hitting five boundaries and three over boundaries while Mushfiqur Rahim smashed 33-ball off 52 runs with the help of eight boundaries and one over boundary.

Later Dasun Shanaka blazed unbeaten 17-ball off 42 runs helped Chiitagong to crossover the two hundred runs land mark.

David Wiese was the most successful bowler as he claimed two Chittagong’s wickets conceding 26 runs.

With this win, Chittagong Vikings secured eight points from five matches while bottom-ranked Khulna Titans remained at their previous credit of two points playing the same number of outings.