Comilla Victorians register second win in BPL


DHAKA, Jan 11, 2019 (BSS) – It was an all-round performance came from Comilla Victorians helped them to earn a five-wicket victory over Rajshahi Kings in the tenth match of Bangladesh Premier League T20 held on Friday at Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium at Mirpur.

With this victory, Comilla Victorians moved the third position with four points from three matches while Rajshahi Kings remained at their previous credit of two points playing the same number of outings.

Chasing Rajshahi’s 124 runs, Comilla despite a little wobble in the middle, romped home making 130 in 18.4 overs for the loss of five wickets.

The two openers — Anamul Haque and Evin Lewis — gave Comilla a good start contributing 65 runs for the opening stand.

Anamul Haque top scored with 32-ball off 40-run laced with four boundaries and one over boundary while Lewis added 21-ball off 28 runs hitting three boundaries and one over boundary.

Left-handed batsman Tamim Iqbal (21) was the other notable scorer for Comilla.

Liam Dawson (12 n.o) and Shahid Afridi (9n.o) completed the chase to remain unbeaten till the end of the innings.

Qais Ahmad, Mustafizur Rahman, and Mehedy Hasan took one Comilla’s wicket each conceding 21, 24 and 33 runs respectively. Shahid Afridi of Comilla was named the player of the match for his brilliant bowling performance.

Earlier, a disciplined bowling attack by the Comilla Victorians bowlers saw Rajshahi Kings dismissed at 124 for all in 18.5 overs after they were forced to bat first by Comilla.

Rajshahi Kings suffered early batting jolt as they slipped 53 for 4 inside 7.1 overs in the score board.

Cameo Isuru Udana top scored with 30-ball off 32 runs laced with five boundaries and one over boundary while skipper Mehedy Hasan smashed 17-ball off 30-run with the help of six boundaries.

Zakir Hasan (27) and Mohammad Hafeez (16) were the other notable scorers for Rajshahi Kings.

Pakistani recruit Shahid Afridi was the pick of Comilla Victorians bowler taking three Rajshahi’s wickets for 10 runs.

He was well supported by Liam Dawson, Mohammad Saifuddin and Abu Haider Rony who all captured two wickets each giving away 17, 25 and 37 runs respectively.