Mock voting of EVM to be held tomorrow

File photo

DHAKA, Dec 26, 2018 (BSS) – Mock voting will be held tomorrow as
electronic voting machines (EVMs) will be used in six seats in the 11th
parliamentary election scheduled to be held on December 30.

The Election Commission (EC) will arrange the mock voting aiming to
educate the newly introduced voting system. The voting will start from 10am
and continue till 4pm in all polling centres simultaneously, this was
revealed by SM Mahmud Arafat, Officer-in-Charge of Planning and Communication
Division of EVM Project.

The EC sources said the commission is launching publicity campaign and
other initiatives to encourage the voters for coping with the EVM system.

As part of introduction of EVM system, the mock voting will be held in the
six parliamentary constituencies, they added.

The EVMs will be used in six constituencies in the 11th parliamentary
elections. The constituencies are- Dhaka-6 and 13, Chattogram-9, Rangpur-3,
Khulna-2 and Satkhira-2.

On November 26, the EC decided to use EVMs in all polling centres of the
six constituencies located in city and district Sadar areas during the 11th
parliamentary elections.

There are 845 centres in the six parliamentary seats, the EC said adding
the number of total voters of these constituencies is 21, 24, 411.